Perspective

Ever since I decided that I was actually going to do this – build my own house – it’s taken over my daily life. I don’t mind. It’s amusing.

When I’m driving down the road, I picture my tiny house behind me. I pay close attention to bridge clearances and watch big trucks go under power lines.

As I pass houses, I look at everything for inspiration: the trim, the roof line, the roofing material, the front door, the windows, the siding, and the colours.

I can spend hours in Home Depot just wandering around and running my hand over flooring options and counter tops. I notice cabinet knobs and how wide my hallway is.

I’m suddenly aware of antique shops, yard sales, free stuff at the end of driveways, and used building supply stores.

Tiny house blogs have taken over my new tab page. I spend tons of time researching what other tiny housers have done.

I’m constantly jumping up from my chair, grabbing my tape measure, and measuring something random like how high and deep the kick plates in the bathroom are.

I find it interesting to google the prices of lighting fixtures and 2″x6″s. Insulation is a fascinating topic for me.

When my thoughts wander, I find them in my future tiny house and I can’t wait for it to become a reality.

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
