What I Want in My Tiny House

These are the things that are important to me to have in my house. I love that I’ll be able to have all of them, rather than having to compromise on some if I were looking for an already built house.

A big comfy bed. I want to be able to lie diagonally across a giant bed and feel like I’m in a hotel every night.

A window seat – a built in bench with a huge window behind it. That’s been my dream ever since I knew what a window seat was. There’s no better place to read and sip hot chocolate than with a bunch of pillows and a view.

A “drop zone”. Both of the houses I’ve lived in are almost the exact same in design, so for my whole life we’ve had a split entrance. It’s small, full of shoes, and since you face a staircase up and a staircase down when you come in, there’s no decent place to put anything that you’re holding! I want to have a little table to drop my mail, a spot for my keys, and organized shoes.

A fabulous front door. The entrance to a pretty home should have a pretty door to welcome you in. I’m tempted to paint it purple.

Lots of natural light. This shouldn’t be too difficult. Tiny houses tend to have a lot of windows for the amount of walls they have. I just don’t want my house to feel like a dark box, and I’ll save on electricity during the day because I won’t need any lights.

A full size closet with drawers. It might not be a walk-in closet, but it’ll be custom. A lot of tiny houses I’ve seen have creative clothing storage, like cubby holes or mini closets in the loft. Cubby holes get messy easily, and I don’t want my clothes in the loft. I can’t really get dressed up there, and I want to be able to stand in front of my closet and decide what to wear that day, not grab something while I’m half asleep. So: a proper closet!

Wood floors. I’m thinking bamboo (even though I think that’s not technically wood). In such a small space, I’ll be able to afford them, and I hate carpet. Cold, hard floor? That’s what rugs are for. No carpet and no vacuuming for me!

Room to do yoga. I plan on making my main room as open as possible so I can have a decent amount of floor space.

Unique, personal touches. Even if it’s “That board is crooked.”

Colour! I love wood in a home, but I’m excited for accent colours and pretty fabrics.

These are my starting design points and the things I’ll have to keep in mind as I plan and build the house.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. John Labovitz
    Jun 08, 2014 @ 14:28:05

    This sounds like a wonderful house. You’re doing some great design work! If you haven’t found it already, I think you’d really enjoy reading the book _The Pattern Language_ by Christopher Alexander. And I’ll immodestly suggest that you look around my blog (link should be in my name) for the housetruck I built several years ago (and still live in).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
