What I Own So Far

I’ve already started collecting books and construction videos, so here’s a list.

Tiny House Magazine. I buy the new issue every month. They’re definitely worth the few bucks! They feature tiny houses and relevant products, as well as articles about living in a tiny house, among other things.

Tumbleweed Construction Video. The video did seem to skip over some things I would’ve liked to hear about, but there are some great tips in there. I recommend it.

The Small House Book by Jay Shafer. This seemed to be one of the most popular tiny house books, so I had to get it. I really like it and have referred back to it several times. It covers different sizes of tiny houses, there are a lot of great pictures, and it includes a tool list and a list of average measurements that is very helpful.

Tiny Homes, Simple Shelter by Lloyd Kahn. Another biggie in the tiny house world. Literally – the book is way bigger than I expected it to be! It’s like a coffee table book that you would flip through. It doesn’t really have info about building tiny houses, but there are tons of gorgeous photos. It’s a great book for inspiration.

Tiny House Floor Plans by Michael Janzen. This book wasn’t really helpful to me because I already had a good idea of what my floor plan was going to be. However, there are floor plans for all sizes of tiny houses, so I recommend it for someone who’s planning a build but doesn’t know where to start.

Wiring 1-2-3 and Plumbing 1-2-3 (Canadian editions). I got these books at Home Depot, but I haven’t read them yet. They look very straightforward, the wiring illustrations look so easy to understand, and there are a lot of step-by-step instructions.

The How To Guide To Building A Tiny House. I already made a post about this one: https://lovelylittledream.wordpress.com/2014/06/10/mail/

TINY: A Story About Living Small. Interesting movie, I only wish it could’ve been longer to include more houses.

That’s what I have so far. I’m waiting for the plans I want to go on sale, and I’ve still got another list of things I plan on buying.

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
