“Dream, but don’t just dream…”

My grandparents drove up from Quebec for a visit this weekend, and they gave me a card for my graduation. Every sentence made me think of my tiny house dream, so I thought I’d post it on here because I just found it so relevant. When students graduate high school, people throw around inspiring quotes about following your dreams, and then kids just get funneled into universities and colleges. I feel like that’s what’s expected of us and it’s considering wrong if we don’t go to university. But a degree doesn’t guarantee a job anymore, and university is ridiculously expensive! If I’m going to go into major debt as soon as I’m an adult out on my own, it’s going to be MY choice, not society’s choice for me.

I’m not 100% sure what I want to do for a career yet. I’m interested in languages and possibly being an interpreter, but I hate school with a passion and for a while I was thinking of skipping uni altogether. I’m taking a year off for sure – I would love to travel, but all my money is going towards the house. And I’ll probably take the next year off as well because there’s no way I’ll be done building before September. After the house is done, then I’ll figure it out. I have trouble picturing more than a couple years into the future. I never thought I’d be where I am now. How am I supposed to predict the future?!

I’m thinking I’ll end up going to university though. The tiny house will save me the cost of staying in dorms, and I’ll have an amazing house instead of a generic dorm room with a single bed and a shared bathroom.

Anyways, about that card…

It reads, “Grad, as you go out into the world, remember… be your own hero. Follow your passions, even if it means leaping into the unknown. Especially then. Dream, but don’t just dream – believe in yourself enough to come up with a plan. Stay open to new possibilities. Tune out life’s noise so you can hear your own inner voice, your own truth, then follow it. Know what you want and seek it. Know who you are and own it. Put your whole heart into everything. And never forget how much power you have to change the world.”

Great card, eh?

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
