Colour Schemes

When I was younger, there was a time when I wanted to be an interior decorator. I loved to move around the furniture in my room, and colours and layouts were things that interested me. Then I decided, like a lot of other specialized jobs I’ve considered, I’d rather just decorate my own house and not have to deal with other people’s weird ideas and restrictions. I’m excited to have my own home to decorate so soon. I’m doing things a little out of order – house, then (probably) university – but I think it suits me.

I had already started imagining colour schemes when I drew my first floor plan, and I don’t think they’ve changed much. Here’s what I’m picturing.

Exterior: Wood siding with dark purple trim. I’m thinking about a purple front door, but I might go with a dark wood. I’m considering teal accents as well, or maybe navy. I’d love to use Onduvilla roofing and make the roof orange, but I might end up going with gray metal roofing instead because it’s cheaper.

Main room: The walls and ceiling will be a light wood, and the trim will match. For the floor, dark wood is pretty but not practical, so I’m planning on something light coloured and sustainable. This will be the most neutral room because it’s the biggest and will be used for different things, so I think I’ll go with white accents. The window seat will be in this room, and it will have purple cushions and curtains, as well as white sheer curtains. The fold-away dining room will be in the main room too. I just decided that the folding chairs will be bright red, and there will be a comfy chair on wheels as well, though I’m not sure on a colour for it yet.

Kitchen: I’m having a harder time deciding on a colour for the kitchen. I’m thinking of making it mostly neutral like the main room. There’s going to be a lot of wood and I don’t like to paint wood because it’s so pretty unpainted. I might add a splash of sunny yellow on the cabinets or as a tiled back splash.

Bathroom: Definitely green. I love the idea of a nice plant green with white and wood in the bathroom. Green towels, and maybe a light purple one too, ’cause purple’s my favourite colour (had you noticed?). I’m also planning on cork flooring in the bathroom – it’s sustainable, not cold or too heavy like tile, and I won’t have to worry about water on a wood floor. And cork flooring isn’t absorbent, even though people seem to think so.

Sleeping loft: Light blue and red. I’ve had that one decided for a while because it’s similar to what I have now.

I know this is all superficial and I have a lot of work to do before I get to decorate, but it’s fun to day dream about!

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
