Minimizing My Wardrobe

Okay, it might seem a little early for this, but I can apply the principles of living in a tiny house anytime without actually living in one. I like the mindset about possessions that tiny living brings.

I’ve spent the past week or so reading lists of clothing essentials, making my own version, taking inventory of my clothes, and finally boxing up the things I don’t need/wear. I cleared out a lot of stuff, so I didn’t want to get rid of it all right away in case I made the wrong choice about something and wanted it back. The last time I went through my clothes, I threw a bunch that I didn’t wear in a bag and put it in the spare room. A while later, my dad asked if it was okay to get rid of it and without thinking, I said yes. Turns out, a t-shirt I bought in Brazil was in there because I never wore it, but I had still wanted to keep it. So I’m going to keep what I cleared out for up to a year, just in case.

I had almost 350 “wearables”, as I call them – that includes jewelry, shoes, purses, and other accessories. That’s a little crazy, especially since I’d just been reading about someone who had a wardrobe total of 10 items.

My list of what I should have in my wardrobe adds up to 200 items. That still sounds like way too much stuff! I read one post where the person wanted to have a total of 200 possessions, including all the other things in her house. But when you factor in everything – from t-shirts to tank tops, socks and underwear to shoes for every season and occasion, plus work clothes, exercise clothes, earrings, necklaces, and sweaters – the numbers add up really quickly.

I ended up putting over 130 things into boxes (yes, plural. I filled 3 medium sized boxes). My closet and dresser are a lot roomier and I feel happier knowing that everything in them are things I know I’ll wear. Plus I love making lists, so this was fun for me. It was a little painful to put some relatively new stuff in the boxes because I can still remember how much I spent, but I know I won’t wear that weirdly patterned shirt or those shorts that turned out to be too short.

One thing that really helped me decide when something should go in the “no” pile was asking myself if I would wear this instead of one of my favourites. There were a few necklaces and tops that I thought were cute, but I realized that I’d never pick them over one of my go-tos.

I’m still over my ideal wardrobe number by 20 items, but I’m okay with that. I definitely made progress and I’m not gonna go from 350 things to 10 in a week.

I’m also not going to go through the rest of my belongings just yet, because I think piles of stuff are kind of like fish – the more space they have, the bigger they’ll grow. If I empty out more of my room, I’ll just be tempted to fill it again because I have the space.

Try taking a peek in your closet and seeing what you can live without. It’ll make deciding what to wear much easier!

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
