Floor Plan!

I’ve drawn four floor plans so far. I didn’t account for wall thickness in the first one. Then I moved everything that needed water to one side of the house for simpler plumbing. Sizing got more realistic as I researched more. I decided I wanted space for a second person and to have water storage inside for the winter, so I added a few feet and some closets.

Today, I finally got around to drawing up a floor plan in black instead of pencil so it would show up better. (The first one is done in such light pencil it’s invisible when I scan it.)

Here it is: Floor Plan #4

The squiggles in the walls are windows, and the X’s are vents. I decided to keep the mini front porch. 🙂 Oh, and “Cab.” means cabinet.

The folding tables can fold separately and are attached to the wall. The chairs on the side of the tables fold and are stored in the spot marked “Chair storage”. Both the table/shoe storage and the chair at the end of the table are on wheels. That way, the whole main room can be put away if I need the space.

I purposely designed the kitchen without a corner, so no wasted space there. I also really wanted the bathroom at the back, even if it is a little tight. The ladder in the plan is stored to the side; I’ll have to pick it up and move it to get into the lofts.

I might not have left enough space for the heater because I don’t know about clearances, but the Dickinson Marine heater will physically fit there. I’m going to start with a little electric heater though because the Dickinson is quite expensive and I’m not sure it’s right for me.

I plan on having a stove top that I can move and store; that way I can have extra counter space if I need it. I’ve been considering a denatured alcohol stove like the Origo. I will not own a microwave. Microwaves kill all the important things in food, and I find everything tastes better heated on the stove or in the toaster oven anyway. My fridge won’t be the under-the-counter version because I want a decent freezer section, but it won’t be full size either.

I’ve been meaning to learn to use Sketch-Up. I downloaded it already and tried it, but I got a little frustrated and haven’t gone back to it yet. I like drawing on paper because I can illustrate exactly what I want (drawing skills permitting) without having to figure out any technology.

My upcoming posts will feature elevation drawings of the interior and exterior, so you’ll really be able to see what I’m imagining. 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paula
    Jun 24, 2014 @ 01:36:42

    Is weight distribution something to think about with these little houses? Do the sides need to ‘balance’ or have the heavy stuff over the axels so it will travel better and not be oddly heavy on one side vs the other?
    I don’t know much about this and can’t remember other blogs talking much about it, but as a backpacker, I know how I loaded my pack and esp where I carried the heavy stuff made a HUGE difference in balance, comfort and doing the miles — ya know, keeping the center of gravity and weight along the spine and even on the sides and near the hip belt area. Only the lightest stuff at the top. It carried and moved better, I can’t help but think that a trailer would be the same except with 2 axels you have two spines and you wouldn’t want the heavy stuff to sit inbetween where the strength to carry the load is weakest… but i’m just assuming from a completly uneducated newby perspective… Or does having heavy stuff on the axel put undo pressure in that one space?
    Just wondering???

    Reply

    • natalienovascotia
      Jun 24, 2014 @ 03:24:22

      From what I know, tiny houses when they’re parked don’t rest on the axles alone. Leveling jacks are used to get everything flat. And tiny houses aren’t like RVs, picking up and moving does require packing. I imagine that personal belongings would be packed up and possibly even taken out of the house completely for the move.
      I tried to consider weight in my plan. I could move the washer/dryer combo if I had to. The main thing I’m worried about is how heavy the shower will be on the back corner since I can’t move it, but I’ll just have to choose the material carefully.
      I won’t be moving the tiny house often, and I’ve seen many blogs where they’ve moved a tiny house without any issues.

      Reply

  2. Megan
    Jun 24, 2014 @ 09:50:26

    I’m designing a tiny house too and weight distribution was a concern for me because I had all my cabinets and water storage (heavy) on one side and doors (much lighter than the walls) on the other, which meant that if I was moving my Tiny House, it would definitely be off balance. This wouldn’t matter if you’re just sitting in one spot.
    My solution: Make the walls taller on the door side (sloping down to the cabinet side), empty the water tanks when moving, and the big innovation, a stackable cabinet design for the full-height cabinet, that could be moved to the other side of the tiny house and bolted to the floor with barn door type bolts (the ones that basically stick a pin into the floor to stop a door from swinging) for when you’re moving. This would provide a more balanced weight distribution and allow for changing up the floor plan occasionally.
    Alternatively, I do know there is such a thing as chains for your trailer (attached at the axles), that help to distribute weight, but I don’t know what the extent of their “abilities” are.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
