We’ve Got It Wrong

I’m glad I discovered tiny houses when I did. They just make so much sense to me! More than most other things. And this way, the transition won’t be difficult. I might live in a 2000ishsqft house, but every day I notice how little of it I use. I really believe that if we have the space, we’ll fill it, and that’s exactly how it is in my house. We have a stocked, but untouched, linen closet; tons of random craft stuff in storage, more than we could ever use; kitchen cupboards filled to the top; unused rooms that are full of stuff we don’t use; blank walls everywhere because there’s too much space to cover. I wish there was some way to show where we go and what we touch, just so we could see exactly how many things we don’t need. I can picture it in my head, trails of colour, leading from the bedroom to the bathroom to the kitchen to the computer and back again. I can see the kitchen utensils we use highlighted in the drawer, while the majority are just in the way. There is so much in the house that none of us use; it drives me crazy sometimes. I’m impatient to choose what I surround myself with. To get rid of the unused. I love the quote by William Morris, “Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful.” I could live by that.

I’m lucky that I don’t have more stuff to deal with. If I wasn’t going to build a tiny house, I’d be off to live in a dorm or apartment and I’d only have my roomful of belongings. Adults who want to live tiny first have to deal with an entire home full of everything they’ve collected over the years. Still, going through what I own, I realize how much crap I have. I love keepsakes and knick knacks, but I have way too many.

I don’t understand why we’re building houses bigger and bigger and going outside less and less. We’re part of nature, yet we distance ourselves from it. Why do we do this? Why do we live in boxes, surrounded by unnecessary stuff? You’d think nature was poisonous the way we live. When did nature become an option instead of a necessity?

I spend the majority of my time alone in my room with my laptop, my phone, or sometimes a book, because that is the habit I’ve cultivated mindlessly for years. I’m not worried about my tiny house being too small because small is how I already live. I want to live bigger, from smaller. I want my tiny house to a private place for me to eat and sleep and read and be alone, but I want it to be my home base, not where I spend my life. I want to fill my life to the brim with amazing food and fabulous company and adventure and curiosity and love and laughter and gratefulness.

People search for their life’s purpose, sometimes for their whole lives, but I think it’s not about having a purpose, it’s about being purposeful. Being mindful and conscious of what we do every day. We don’t have many instincts, so we live according to our habits, but we need to challenge our habits. We need to constantly ask ourselves if we could be doing better because so many of us can be!

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
