Back!

So, we’re all home safe and sound from a lovely trip to Ontario and back. I read all my chick lit books but have not yet cracked the tiny house ones, gasp! I was in a bit of a reading slump for too long and wasn’t reading anything, so I’m just happy to be zipping through books again.

Anyways, I had an absolutely awesome time, and I even have some tiny house things to share.

It’s funny, my family has told more people about my tiny house plans than I have. A couple of weeks ago, I went to talk to my dad while his friend was over and his friend asked me when I was getting my trailer. Then at the family barbeque I had relatives asking me questions, which was fun but very surprising at first because I’m not the one who told them. My mum told my grandparents who told more relatives…

There was my skeptical uncle asking why tiny houses are different than travel trailers (they’re built like proper houses, instead of chemical-infused plastic boxes meant for summer only). Then I was showing my great aunt a bunch of pictures of all sorts of tiny houses. I talked to my great uncle about trailers. He’s thinking I could find a welding place to make what I need for less money, rather than going with a trailer company that prefers to make assembly line trailers. I’m a little hesitant to go with a place that doesn’t specialize in trailers, but we’ll see. As long as they’ve made trailers before it should be fine. One of my friends gave me a number for a local welder that I have yet to contact, so I should get around to that.

Then later that weekend, my grandparents mentioned that there’s a tiny house about 10km down the road from their house! My grandfather and I went to check it out, and sure enough, there was a Tumbleweed cypress model sitting on somebody’s lawn. We figured it wouldn’t hurt to knock on the door of the main house and ask to see it. A man answered and told us that his son (who wasn’t home) was the one building the house and that it wasn’t finished, but he said he could certainly show it to us. It was super awesome; I’ll post pictures tomorrow! It’s great to find tiny houses in Canada because almost all of the blogs I read are from the States.

On Tuesday, we headed to Ontario to camp for the week. One day, my dad had been on his laptop (and HE’s the one that likes roughing it instead of the glamping that we do) and came across Tiny Refuge on the news! That could be me in a couple years, being interviewed about my awesome tiny house! Here’s the link to the article/video: http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/montreal/take-a-tour-of-a-teeny-tiny-home-1.2722535

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
