The Scary Part

The money. Maybe for some, the scary part would be, you know, building a HOUSE. But I’m a problem solver, and I’ll figure out what I need to do for all that. Money is the thing that stresses me out, because I’m not saving as much as I planned (I have a horrible habit of spending copious amounts of money on yummy food) and I’m not getting as many shifts at work as I expected after finishing school. The build will probably take two years or more, instead of a bit over a year, just because I won’t have the money to build continuously. I’ll have to delay university for another year (though I don’t mind).

Originally when I was reading up on tiny houses and a plan was starting to form, the moolah estimate was a lot lower. The Tiny Tack House – the first house I discovered – has $15 000 – $20 000 as their cost estimate. Then other tiny houses seemed to be around $25 000. Then the one in Quebec that I like, Tiny Refuge, is getting closer to $40 000! Like I said, scary. But it’s ideal for me to start the build before university, because if I wasn’t going to build a tiny house, I’d be spending tons of money on school anyway. A lot of people accept that they’re going to go into serious debt when they’re 18; I might as well spend my money on something I’m sure of. Not that the tiny house will put in me in serious debt. It’ll be cheaper than school and housing!

The tiny house isn’t a future that I have to decide now and keep forever, like a job is supposed to be (pfft, I don’t want to have the same job for my whole life). The tiny house is my now and my soon and my while after that, and it’s lovely that way.

But back to the money. A while ago, I did up a spreadsheet of every single thing I could think of that I would need for the build. Then I researched how much everything costs. Now, it’s not perfect – some things still don’t have a dollar amount beside them. Electrical wire is one, because I don’t know how much it costs or how much I’ll need. I plan on reading up on it more. Same with plumbing. Oh, and there’s no way I accounted for enough nails and screws. I’ve also probably got a lot of over- and underestimates. Anyways, the rough estimate at the moment, from books and tools to light bulbs and wood, including appliances, is about $31 000. I really wanted it to be a lot closer to $20 000, but my goal is to buy everything that I can on sale and have all the “actual” numbers be less than the “estimate” numbers.

Before winter, to get a weather-proof shell built, my estimate is $15 000. Breaking it up makes it less intimidating.

I’m doing my best to research everything beforehand and have it all figured out, but I was reading a tiny house newsletter last night that was encouraging tiny house dreamers to get started right away. What’s stopping me? Winter! (And money.) I had originally planned to start this past spring, especially since I graduated early at the end of January. However, I wanted to go to a Tumbleweed workshop before I started building, and the workshop wasn’t until the end of May. As a complete newbie to construction, I want to leave myself as much time as possible to get the outside built before winter, so I wasn’t about to start building in June. So, the plan is to start building as soon as the snow’s gone in 2015. Now I have a ton of time to fill! I can’t start school, because I’ll be building a house soon. I can’t travel, because I’m saving my money for the build.

Which brings it all back to money. I’m working as much as I can, and in my free time, I’m doing as much prep as I can. I know I won’t be able to save enough to buy everything with cash, but I’ll figure out something with the bank and work as I go. In the fall, if work slows down enough, I’m thinking of looking for a second job.

I’m sure everything will work out in the end.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tiny House-Community
    Aug 11, 2014 @ 07:44:31

    Yes, it can seem intimidating, but you’re doing the right thing to plan and break it up into steps. Make each goal a manageable size and do what you can to achieve that. The end will soon be in sight 🙂

    “A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” — Lao-tzu

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
