Building Has Happened

Today I went out and bought a pair of safety glasses. I also looked for a utility belt, but I’m tiny and they’re all giant. There’s a pink utility belt that’s less bulky, but I refuse to wear pink gear. Just because I’m female doesn’t mean that I want everything I own to be pink. I wish they would make smaller sizes in normal colours.

I took a look at gloves too, but I wasn’t quite sure what kind I wanted, if any, so I just borrowed my mum’s today. And Dad gave me his extra pair of ear defenders.

Then my dad and I started work on the shed! I measured the boards for the floor, cut them, and we started putting together the floor frame.

Where the old shed was.

Where the old shed was.

Our set-up, with all the shed contents in the background.

Our set-up, with all the shed contents in the background.

Using the skill saw!

Me using the skill saw!

The beginnings of a floor.

The beginnings of a floor.

That’s as far as we got before I had to get ready for work. We got a couple boards screwed together. I actually find the drill more difficult to use than the skill saw. But framing is fun! I didn’t want to stop, so that bodes well for my build 🙂

It was a really cool day, with Dad teaching me good habits and little tricks that he’s learned.

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
