We’re Building a Building

So last night we got the third wall up:

We usually finish up a bit after the sun goes down, so I take a picture in the morning. Sunlit pictures are a hundred times better than ones taken in the dark.

I got up as early as I could drag myself away from my warm bed and sleepy cat and started measuring and cutting for the 4th wall.

This is as far as I got before I had to get ready for work:

Dad wants to get the shed done before Monday, so while I was at work he put a few things together, including the ridge beam:

When I got home from work we continued, and this is how far we got before it started to get dark:

I’ll post a picture tomorrow of where we got to after that. We’ve got the sheathing for the two side walls cut, we put up the other half of the back wall, and the rest of the rafters are traced and ready to be cut.

The little triangles where the rafter meets the wall are a pain. You have to make four cuts. You go in with the skill saw on both sides, but since it’s a round blade you can’t reach the edge. So then you take a jig saw (oh! I used a jig saw today! It’s small but scary but fun) and cut in on both sides as well.

We also put a piece of sheathing on the four rafters that are up, though it’s not cut to size yet, just to show that we’ve got (part of) a roof!

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
