A Roof Overhead

More sheathing went up the other day.

And I’ll be honest, I haven’t been helping as much. Dad took to working after dark, which was just annoying and shadowy. Then we had issues with the drill and it’s just way too easy to get frustrated in the dark.

Sheathing surprised me by being complicated. I know I’ll have to plan my seams and cut out windows, but Dad carefully planned each piece. For example, the front is 8 feet, so two sheets of OSB, right? But then the door would be in the middle of a seam and you’d have two unusable pieces of wood. Dad and I cut one sheet in half and put it on the edges, and then kept a whole sheet for the middle, which left us with a perfect piece to use for the door. I wouldn’t have thought of that.

We kind of planned one step at a time, and when it came time for the roof we were running out of time, so somehow we didn’t plan it right for easy sheathing. Overhang and such things confused us and it wasn’t as simple as it could’ve been, but oh well. The roof is sheathed and the things from the old shed have been moved to their new home. There’s even a built-in shelf in there.

My dad’s been posted to Ottawa, so he’s going to be living separate from us because we’re not ready to move. That’s why we were low on time for this project – not because we were running out of summer, but because he had to leave.

He left this morning, but my parents finished a great door last night:

Look at that! Shingles! I’ll let you in on a secret: only one side of the roof is shingled. Oops. It’s sealed up with plastic for now and Dad will be back in October for some finishing touches. We just had better things to do before he left.

Oh, and about the fence – our property fits like a puzzle piece with our neighbour’s. Their garage juts into our property, and then we own this around-the-corner bit of land between two fences.

I’m lucky that I’ll be building at my parents’ house because there’s a lot of stuff I can use, like extension cords and the wheelbarrow, that as a young adult I won’t be owning anytime soon. Then again, I’ll be a homeowner soon enough, so who knows?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paula
    Sep 01, 2014 @ 18:30:07

    you may want to shingle the other side while he’s gone as a learning experience. It’s small so if you mess up it’s not a big deal and can be fixed when he gets back – if you do it right – it’s a big deal good thing and a checkmark for you on your skill sheet for building you own house!

    Reply

    • natalienovascotia
      Sep 02, 2014 @ 01:24:35

      My tiny house won’t have shingles so I’m a little uninterested in it. Plus we need more shingles, so Dad and I are gonna get more in October (the store that has them isn’t local).
      I plan on building something small with the leftover wood though for practice.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
