Roofing Options

I wasn’t really interested in learning about shingling when we were building the shed, because there’s no way shingles would be able to withstand highway winds. Being on wheels limits options that are common in normal houses. Drywall or plaster will crack in transit; brick, concrete, and other heavy building materials are out too because of weight restrictions. It makes you think.

A lot of tiny houses have metal roofs. I like the idea of a metal roof, and that’s what I figured I’d have until I read this post about Onduvilla roofing. I love it! It’s so pretty! And it comes in orange (as well as red, green, brown, and black). I’d love to have an orange roof, especially with the style of the shingles. The look just makes me think of warm weather and the bright blue sea of postcards. It’s made of recycled materials and resists high winds. It’s practically perfect! Except for the fact that I can’t find it anywhere. When I first read about it, I searched for a place to buy it and did some math. The cost was way higher than for a metal roof, so I was discouraged (though I might’ve done the math wrong), and then yesterday when I searched for it at the same store as before, nothing came up. The official site shows no dealers anywhere near me. I’ll have to email them for more info.

I have to decide between metal and Onduvilla. Metal can be difficult and dangerous (sharp edges!) for a do-it-yourselfer, and with some products you have to worry about rust. Also, metal roofs can be dangerous in the winter when whole sheets of snow and ice slide off at once. But metal seems to be the cheapest and most common roof material for tiny houses.

Our neighbour just redid the roof of his garage with metal. It cost $1000, took one day to put up (over the existing roof), and the seller cut the sheets to length for him.

Onduvilla, on the other hand, is recycled (yay) and gorgeous (not to mention very effective).

I think in the end it will come down to what I can afford. Hopefully the prices won’t be too different and I’ll be able to buy the one I really want: Onduvilla.

Side note: on the roofing site that describes Onduvilla, they also have a section for Tuftex, which Deek Diedrickson mentioned at the Tumbleweed workshop. Tuftex is a really strong plastic that he likes to use in his builds. Even though it’s a roofing material, it can be used for walls or showers. So, if I build my own shower instead of getting a fiberglass stall, I think I’ll use Tuftex or something similar. Sealing and adding a shelf might be difficult because the plastic is wavy, but if I want to save myself the $300+… We’ll see.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tinyhousegiantjourney
    Aug 30, 2014 @ 05:09:03

    Our roof cost between $725 and $800 in materials. Onduvilla should be significantly cheaper than metal. Lowes sells it I think, and if you are in Canada, I know that Materio in Montreal and Kent Supply in New Brunswick and Nova Scotia sell it. I would contact Ondura directly though. Tell them where you heard about the roof! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
