Brainstorm

My friend Bailey refers to the way I talk and jump subjects as a tornado, and that’s what this post is going to be like.

I find that when I’m stuck and can’t think of a topic to blog about, I never have to look far. And then when I do get a post up, I think of more ideas! After posting yesterday, I thought of twenty topics or comments to include in future posts. Also, the more I blog, the more I want to blog. I remember coming across a list of common bucket list items a couple years ago, and maintaining a blog was one of them. Before the tiny house dream, I didn’t have any interest in blogging. Most blogs have a theme they stick to, like cooking, crafts, or fashion, and I couldn’t think of anything that I wanted to continuously post about. My thoughts are annoyingly repetitive and too all over the place to make a blog about. I love books, but I’ve always disliked writing about writing; I’d rather read a book than spend time summarizing, dissecting, and rating one.

But I’ve discovered I enjoy the regularity of blogging (I might even start another blog, because blogging is addictive and I’ve come up with so many ideas!). In the beginning of Lovely Little Dream, I made sure to post every day. I had that much built up stuff to write about because I’d already been researching for a long time. I still try to post every day, or every other day, and I’m surprised I haven’t run out of things to say! There is A LOT that goes into a house though, so there’s still plenty more to come. And I love writing. It helps to sort things out. Often, when I’m trying to decide about something tiny house related, I just write a post about it and by the end of it, I’ve figured out what I want.

One thing I’ve tried to do is write posts ahead of time, and that worked for a little while, but I found that I’d change my mind about what I wanted to post about. I don’t like to plan very far ahead, which is odd considering I’m planning and have been planning to build a house for quite a while now.

Other brainstorm tidbits:

On the Saturday that Dad and I were building, my sister and my mum held a yard sale. One older man came over to me while I was holding the skill saw, getting ready to cut, and said to me, “I’ve never seen a lady carpenter before!” Construction workers are generally male, I get it. A reason I don’t tell everyone about my tiny house plan: I don’t need their skepticism.

My parents cleared out kitchen stuff we don’t use for the yard sale and let me pick what I wanted 🙂 I have always loved kitchen stuff, even when I was a kid. My parents would go into Canadian Tire and I’d look at plates. I’ve collected a few pretty glasses and things that I intend to take with me, but I really need to hold off on buying finishing items. I can’t afford to spend money at both ends of the build; if I spend money to outfit my future kitchen, I won’t have money to buy things like insulation in the beginning of the build. That reminds me, I have to make an appointment at the bank and see what my options are come my 19th birthday. I don’t work full time so saving money is slow going, but I like my ever-changing schedule and free time to enjoy life. I know the tiny house will be hard, but I don’t want to sacrifice my quality of life now to afford things later. That’s why I don’t mind going into debt for a while.

I still haven’t watched the tiny house video I bought in June from Tiny House Build. It’s about 6 hours total, so I haven’t started it because I haven’t had time to finish it in one sitting. I know I can watch it in parts, but that’s one of my flaws – I like to do things all at once. And I have trouble getting started.

My tool budget is looking more and more generous as I learn what Dad has that I can use. I’ll happily fill in a low number for that category. Every bit saved helps. That’s why I’m waiting until Christmas sales for a few big things. As much as I want to have physical things for the build, knowledge is more important right now, considering I won’t be starting the build until April at the earliest.

Notes to self:

– come up with some new tags to break up “Miscellaneous”

– sort through and share the sites I’ve bookmarked during my tiny house research

– get points cards and sign up for flyers at various hardware/supply stores

 

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
