Wood Hobby Club

About five years ago, my parents did a woodworking course in the fall and built a lovely cabinet for our bathroom.

Mum suggested I find out if they still offer the course. They do, so I signed up 🙂 It starts in October and I’m really looking forward to it. We’re going to be building an end table/nightstand. They teach the more precise stuff like joinery, which I’m excited to learn about. It’ll also be nice to have a teacher, even if I won’t be using the information much until I get to the built-ins. I’m sure it will come in handy earlier though. I can join the club too so I can use the tools they have there for my own projects.

It’s not just about the tiny house anymore; I actually just love the idea of building things. I’d be happy to take this course even if I wasn’t going to build a house. I’m sure there are people out there that would rather have their house built than do it themselves, because construction isn’t something they’re interested in, but the more I research, the more I get into it. Which is weird because in high school I was a total book worm. I took a shop class, but I was so worried about doing something wrong I didn’t enjoy it. Now, I have more confidence in myself, and more time to figure out how to do stuff.

I still have a lot more research to do, but it’s interesting for me. I don’t mind spending hours on tiny-house-related topics.

I can see the puzzle pieces of the house coming together in my head and it’s exciting, even if I need to learn more about the specifics.

I’ve helped build a shed, and next I’m going to be building a storage seat, and then I’ll be building a nightstand with fancy joinery and it’s all very exciting! They’re small projects compared to a house, but hey, I have to start somewhere.

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
