Minimalism is Addictive

I love learning new things and the tiny house dream has definitely had me reading about topics I’d never cared about before. I’m riveted by this little world I’ve discovered. I love reading other tiny house blogs, and one of the topics that keeps coming up is minimalism, or tiny house living. Every day when I go to get dressed, I see all the clothes I don’t wear. I look around my room and see things that won’t make the cut when I move into my tiny house. I would love to get rid of stuff now, but I think that I’ll just accumulate new stuff to fill the extra space that I have. When I do move though, it won’t be a matter of packing up everything I own and relocating it all. I will go through every item I own and decide what’s worth keeping. It’ll be a fresh start.

I believe in simplicity, things with more than one function, and surrounding yourself with only the things you love. I want almost everything in my house to be used or appreciated regularly, if not daily. One habit I’ve adopted is to stop before buying something and ask myself if I can picture it in my tiny home. I don’t need a lot, and I have way too much. I think about when I travel, I pick my favourites of everything to bring and the most versatile items. I don’t want to own anything (with some exceptions) that don’t make that cut. I’m also limited by how much space I have in my suitcase. Houses these days are so big that you aren’t really limited with how much stuff you can collect, but we aren’t meant to own so much! Imagine taking every one of your belongings and putting them all into a pile in your backyard. Then stand next to it. It makes no sense! We could never carry all that! Why do we feel the need to collect it all? I really believe that we’re meant to be nomadic. Plus, most likely, almost everything in that pile looks odd next to nature.

We create a buffer for ourselves out of stuff, and then we complain about how we don’t have fulfilling relationships with people. I want to get back to the natural and the simple. I want to be less attached to material goods. I want shopping to stop being a mindless, socially encouraged pastime. Minimalism just makes so much sense to me, and since discovering the concept/lifestyle, my perspective has changed. I look at my stuff and see things I could get rid of, things that I would be happy to get rid of. If you don’t use something or it doesn’t benefit your life, then why are you keeping it?

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
