Guest Post!

Hi, my name is Bailey, I’m 18 and I’m a friend of Natalie’s. After she introduced me to the tiny house movement it was like my eyes were widened to what people are capable of actually DOING with their lives. I’m a thinker, recently I’ve become more active with myself but for most of my life I’ve always been in my own little self sufficient world. It was great because I had all these ideas to work with and a really great imagination, but I also realized that I don’t want to live solely in my head my whole life. I immediately associated that (how you live) with the most intimately associated part of your life (where you live). Most people don’t even realize that where they live could be different than it is, because it’s just so connected to them that they could never see themselves outside of it, and why would you when you can build a life and socialize without ever having to leave your house?

I really like doing things now, but I’m a type two control drama AND a manifesting generator (figure out what those are by yourself because I’m not explaining the whole thing here). Basically I never do anything without a little push because there are no other forces at work. Sometimes I can give myself that push, but for the most part I need a little outside assistance. I think living in a tiny house would be PERFECT for having that little push. With a limited number of places you can switch seats to, you’re forced to witness how lazy you really are.

I also love how the tiny house movement includes MOBILITY. I love traveling! I’m the Garde Manger at a restaurant in my hometown but I’m still learning. I have a renowned chef teaching me the basics of food and I’m also getting into the baking aspect of the restaurant so I work everything from salad prep to apps to desserts. The only thing I’m not working with yet is proteins, so I’m not a Chef, but I hope to learn that side as well. My goal is to be so good at whatever I choose to do in life that I can do it anywhere, and therefore I will be able to travel a lot. What better way to do that than to have a tiny house to travel in?

The issue with the mobility aspect for me is the distance. Moving a house isn’t exactly a leisurely process, even if it’s meant to be moved. And I don’t want to move around my community or even province, I want to cross the ocean! Of course I’m going to start by visiting every country I want to in the Americas: Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Brazil, Dominica, Haiti, etc. (though maybe not Mexico for another 10 years or so. Stupid American govt.). The problem with a tiny house is that in that regard it’s as grounded as a regular house. BUT my plan is also to continue living here in Nova Scotia as a “home base” and do all my traveling with an open ended ticket home, so no matter what happens I can always jump a plane and head back to the homeland, consisting of a population of exactly 40% rednecks 40% hippies. If you fall into the remaining 20% you’re just here for a visit or you’re very strong willed. A tiny house would be more ideal somewhere other than in Canada. Here they’re pretty much as inconvenient as possible, the dirt roads, the cold winters (Natalie mentions insulation problems all the time), the crazy amount of salt. Ugh, not exactly tiny house friendly.

I have come to the conclusion that a tiny house just is not for me, though I can certainly see the appeal. It’s just that the style of life I’m choosing for myself isn’t very compatible. Sometime down the road, when I maybe settle down a bit I might build one. But for now I’m content to rent an apartment (MOVING OUT IN DECEMBER!!!) and save for travel and write my book and learn the ropes of the cold kitchen!
Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
