Inspiration and Other News

Back when tiny houses were just a cool idea to me, a couple months after I discovered them, I was sitting in art class doodling and listening to music. I had recently seen a tiny house online with some really cool scalloped siding, and that made it into my drawing. By the end of the class I had a drawing of the facade of a beautiful tiny house, complete with colour scheme ideas and quotes from the songs I’d been listening to. One of the songs was from the Tarzan soundtrack, which was one of my favourite movies as a kid. The song plays in the background as Tarzan’s parents build their home while he’s still a baby. “A simple life, they live in peace.” “Build high the walls, build strong the beams, a new life is waiting…” There will always be something so comforting and natural to me about building your own home, fit to your needs, to start the rest of your life in. Sometime soon I’ll have to dig up the drawing, which is too light to show up when scanned, and do a darkened version to upload.

The other day, I thought of the tiny house that had inspired the scalloped siding and wanted to share it, so I looked it up. I couldn’t actually find a lot of good pictures because the house only appears in its own 20 minute documentary. I watched it and was inspired all over again; it’s worth the time to watch it. It doesn’t have a lot about the build, but their journey chasing their love of the slopes is fabulous. What’s more inspiring than someone following their dreams? AND using a tiny house to do it? I was riveted. See the video here. And take a look at what they use for a staircase 🙂

In other news, I have been very busy this week starting wood hobby club and my new job!

The first night of wood hobby club was just the introduction – to the people, the project, and the workshop. I have a little calculating to do for how much wood I’ll need to build a nice nightstand/end table. It’s going to have a drawer and a cupboard, and we’re going to learn how to do dovetail joints and raised panel doors.

As for the new job, it was an accident. I’d been looking for a second job so I could stay at the local restaurant where I worked but get more hours. My friend Bailey mentioned that the restaurant where he works was looking for a part-timer with experience, so I went in for an interview. Then they offered me full time: first I’d be bussing/doing dishes 6 days a week, and then in April they have a server leaving, so they planned to train me for serving as well. The serving hours would be a lot less but tips would make up the difference, and I’d only be working three days a week. I took some time to think about it. I asked about getting time off for the annual family vacation and getting the right nights off so I could still do wood hobby club. They said no problem for both, so I accepted. I did love my old job, but this one was too perfect to pass up! It’s exactly what I need: work as much as I can now before the build to save money, and then switch to less hours come spring so I have time to build! I’m thanking the universe.

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
