A Productive Day

Yesterday was the third night of wood hobby club. For the first half, they showed us how to make panels, and then after that we were free to start picking out wood.

The club is open on Tuesday nights (as well as Wednesday nights and Saturday during the day), so I decided to go in tonight. I hadn’t finished picking out all the wood I needed, so I didn’t want to be behind next week.

I went in at 5 o’clock, and didn’t come out again until 9:30! I did everything that we’ve learned so far! 🙂

I finished picking out my boards. Then, with the help of the friendly guy running the club (who helped with all the steps), I planed the boards. Then I used the radial saw to cut the pieces I needed for my big panels. Next was the jointer, to square up one side of my pieces. With one side square, I used a table saw to square up the other side. After that, I used the table saw again to cut my six inch pieces in half(ish). Then I got clamps out and organized all my pieces so that the grain alternated throughout the panel. That way, the panel is less likely to break after being exposed to moisture. Instead of one side swelling more than the other because the rings are farther apart on one side, the panel is more even. Then came the glue, and the guy volunteering helped me get all my clamps in place. I now have a top panel, two sides, and two shelves for my end table!

My top panel, before the glue.

My top panel, before the glue.

All my panels so far, clamped and drying! You can also see some half-finished end tables in the background.

I also bought a tool pouch for my belt today. All the actual tool belts are way too big for me, but there was a tool holder with a couple pockets and a hammer hoop that I bought. It fits nicely on my hip, so I’m happy that I’ll have a place for nails, pencils, and other miscellaneous things while I’m building my house 🙂 And, I don’t think I mentioned, a little while ago I bought a mini tape measure; it’s perfect for smaller projects like the end table.

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
