WHC: Week 7

Yesterday at wood hobby club I put together the sides and shelves of my end table. They look so lovely! Nothing looks as good as real wood, and it’s so awesome that I’m the one that built those panels!

I also worked on my top panel. I’d been waiting for the wider planer to be fixed so I could plane the panel, but they’ve been waiting weeks for a part. I finally gave in and cut my panel in half. I planed the halves with the smaller planer, glued them back together, waited, then sanded the panel. It looks so good, and for a newbie’s work, it’s surprisingly flat 🙂

In the lesson we learned about biscuit joinery, which we’ll be using to attach the facing to our end tables. Adding those pieces makes it look a lot more like an end table!

Building is so exciting. You have control over your own projects. I decided that I didn’t like the look of the trim in the end table design, so I’m skipping the trim around the bottom. I made my bottom shelf lower than everyone else. It’s a little scary to deviate from the plan, but it’s what I want and hopefully it will look good!

With what I’m learning in this course, I’ll be able to build pretty much anything. I’m already picturing the joints for the rolling shoe storage table I’m going to have in my tiny house, and making simple shelves will be super easy for me. I’m planning on making all my kitchen cupboards myself, plus building the closets for clothes and storage.

I’m getting excited and nervous. Now that it’s December, the countdown is starting. This month, I’ll finish collecting the tools I’ll need. January will be spent reviewing the plans and making my materials list more detailed. In late February I’ll order the trailer. I’ll spend March looking for materials at restores. In April I turn 19 and will be dealing with the bank. Somewhere in there I’ll probably order windows, because none of my windows are standard sizes. Then, the plan is to start insulating the trailer bed in early May!

I still have so much research to do!

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
