WHC: Week 12 and Other Things

The end of January was an optimistic finish date for my end table. After a lengthy lesson last night at wood hobby club and still more lessons to go, continuing into February is going to be inevitable.

I don’t mind though, because I went back through my emails and found that the lead time for my trailer will be about 4 weeks, not 6-8 like I expected. So I still have time before I really dive into the tiny house. I also found the original price quote, and it turns out, I already accounted for tax in my budget, phew!

The lesson last night was about attaching the door, drawer, and drawer front, and it was a lot of steps. I still haven’t made my door yet, but I’m going in on Monday for a make-up lesson. Then hopefully I’ll be able to get my door done on Tuesday. I also need to finish my drawer front. There are three pieces of wood I need that aren’t on the materials list, so I have to cut, sand, and attach those. I have to sand and attach the top rail of my facing. I need to cut my top to size. After all that, I’ll still need to attach the door, drawer and drawer front, and top, then sand and seal everything. No wonder people buy ready-made furniture.

I emailed back and forth with the design consultant I talked to on the phone and all is well. He personally knows the man who will be building my trailer and said to let him know when I order the trailer so the two of them can talk. They’ve worked together before and I think the consultant can help get my trailer right for a tiny house with less metal. However, I am concerned about including a third person – who suggested I build with 2×3’s and plywood only to keep the weight down (where would I put my insulation and nice siding?) – and not hearing the conversations that go on without me. This trailer will be the most expensive purchase of my life so far, so I don’t want an outsider over-ruling my researched specifications.

My tiny house dream is an emotional roller coaster of “Oh my goodness, what if this doesn’t work?!” and “This is going to be awesome!” I love this dream too much to quit now!

I ❤ Tiny Houses

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
