WHC: Week 17

This week at wood hobby, I sanded my new door. I’m actually very bad at sanding things flat. My door wasn’t flat in the first place, and getting it to lay flat on the front of my nightstand/end table took a while. And it will need some wood filler, but here it is:

It’s so thin! All of the pieces of the project are supposed to be 3/4″ thick, but the door is closer to 1/2″. I don’t mind. For my next project I’ll probably make more pieces this thin, because my drawer is so heavy.

After I finished sanding, I gathered up all the pieces I have so far. When I lined up my new door and my drawer front, I realized that my drawer front was too short! The guy running the club had some extra pine (everything I have left is cut up into tiny pieces, unfortunately) that he was kind enough to give to me, so I made a new drawer front. It’s now the same width as the door, and it’s the proper height of 6″ instead of 5.5″. It was good that I had to make a new drawer front, because my old one was quite thick compared to the door. However, I still forgot to plane the big board before cutting, so I planed my short pieces and sanded out the snipes.

The difference between my old and new drawer fronts.

The difference between my old and new drawer fronts.

I did some sanding on my drawer as well, to make everything flush. Here are all my pieces thus far:

Obviously, I still need to attach everything, but first I want to router the edges of my door, drawer front, and top to make them rounded. I also want to router a design into my drawer front so it’s not so plain. Hopefully I can find someone to help me with the router. 😛

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
