March Update

Big News:

I finally got around to ordering my trailer!!! It’s not completely ordered yet; I’m still working with the trailer company to make sure the trailer will be exactly as I need, but I sent the first email. That counts! I had planned to order my trailer in February, based on wanting to pick it up at the end of April/beginning of May and it taking 6-8 weeks. However, the estimate the company gave me several months ago was 4 weeks and I’d been putting it off. It’s SUCH a big purchase, and I’m worried about getting every little detail right. Everything’s been a little hectic recently and I have a lot of things on the go, so I’m trying to shorten the list of the things I have going on and take the time to focus on tiny house things. I keep shying away from all these things I’ve never done before, like shopping for windows (window shopping? 😛 ), but I need to jump in! And I did! But the real big step will come when the money leaves my account.

Small News:

I got a hold of someone who makes decisions about things like septic systems. I wanted to ask about connecting my house to one, as suggested to me at my meeting with the county. I was told that I need to contact the company that maintains the septic system on the land and ask them. The company would get approval from the woman I talked to, and she gave me the impression that I shouldn’t have a problem. But you never know. It wasn’t a very informative phone call.

I went to Home Depot, which is a half hour away so I don’t go very often. I’ve been planning on ordering my windows from there; they sell Jeld-Wen, which is the brand that Tumbleweed recommends. I’ve also been hoping that I’ll be able to put all of my windows on their consumer card, which has no interest as long as I make payments and pay it all back within 6 months. I applied for one there, but the system was unable to make a decision. I had asked what the minimum age was and the employee thought it was 18, but it might be 19. I also just might not be eligible for other reasons. I want to have the windows as soon as possible so I can dry-fit them just to make sure, before I put my walls up, but everything depends on money.

Home Depot does not sell any brands that have open-able octagon windows. I want to have octagon windows at both ends of the house, and I’d really like them to open for ventilation, especially in the summer when all the heat will rise to my bedroom. I also got some estimates for a couple of windows. My budget allows $300 per window. An 18″x18″ octagon that doesn’t open is $280, and the 18″w by 54″h casement window I want for my entrance would be closer to $340. My mum suggested I check the two local hardware stores for windows, so I think I’ll do that as well.

I found gloves! While at Home Depot I found grippy gloves that actually fit me for only $8.

I bought a fancy Dewalt screwdriver bit set with a case. It was on sale 😛 My dad did say I could use his, but I wanted my own full set to bring into wood hobby.

My friend Jade was with me for the Home Depot trip, and seeing the prices of table saws, she offered to ask her dad and grandfathers to borrow one. I’d love to have my own, but my hours dropped this winter and my cat needed a life-saving surgery, so my savings are lower than I’d planned.

A Change:

I’ve decided to go with spray foam insulation. There’s an eco-friendly kind, that’s purple (my favourite colour), with an installer not too far from here. Spray foam will give me really good r-value (although I haven’t found exact numbers anywhere), structural support because it’s so rigid, and it will allow me to have a thinner shell. Thinner walls means more interior space and a thinner roof means more head space! As long as it’s not astronomically expensive when I call for a quote, it seems like the best option. The main reason I didn’t choose spray foam in the first place was that I can’t do it myself, but that’s a small reason compared to the benefits. Going with spray foam raises a new question though: what do I do about the floor? The floor has to be insulated first, before the frame even exists, so if I get someone to come out and do the spray foam, they wouldn’t be able to do it all at once. So I either need to pay for them to come out twice (I still have to call for an estimate) or use another type of insulation in the floor. Several builds I’ve seen have used rigid foam boards, but I’m not sure about getting the r-value I want from those. Roxul, my original choice, isn’t ideal either because I’d need very thick batts to get the r-value.

This build is going to go slowly. It’s recommended that you save up all the money before you start your build, and I would love to do that, but it’s slow going and I don’t want to delay the start of the build. I will build as I have the money and that’s just how it will be. I’ll look into credit options after my 19th, but I don’t want to pay hundreds, possibly thousands in interest down the road.

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
