I’m a Procrastinator

I skipped wood hobby club these past two weeks. With both the shed and the end table, my interest and effort waned by the final steps. That worries me when I think of what a long process the tiny house will be.

I’ve reached the point with the end table where all I have left to do is to put it all together before I get to take it home! But I need four extra pieces that I don’t have, and more instruction on how to line up my drawer. The instructors haven’t shown up in a while because the course is over, so I’m left to rely on the other club members who don’t always know what they’re doing. I’m also not sure about screws and fasteners, if the club has some for the course or if I have to go buy a whole bunch. I wouldn’t know which ones to buy anyways. That’s how new I am at this (even after 6 months).

To make up for skipping, despite how much I love sleeping in, I’m going to go into wood hobby this weekend. Who knows, maybe I’ll even bring my end table home! It will need to be stained and sealed, but it’s best to do that away from the sawdust of the club.

Even though I am a procrastinator, I was productive! All week I’ve been working on tiny house related things. I’m finally putting together an extensive list of the phases and steps that go into planning, building, and living in a tiny house, which I plan to share soon. I’ve also been emailing back and forth with several people about estimates for the beginning of the build (which are looking a little scary). I talked my boyfriend’s ear off about the pros and cons of different types of insulation. I’ve gone back and forth between stressed and excited dozens of times. Money and big decisions are my stressors, but it will all be worth it when I have my own dream house. It helps to think that when the house is done, I won’t be $80 000 in debt like my peers with only a piece of paper to show for it. As for my interest waning, the end of a tiny house build is the best part. I can’t wait to make it pretty and move in!

I’m scared for how long this build will take, but then I remembered a quote by Earl Nightingale: “Don’t let the fear of the time it will take to accomplish something stand in the way of your doing it. The time will pass anyway.”

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
