WHC: Week 19

I went into the club today for four hours. The time flew by! I hadn’t planned to spend that long there, but I was on a roll with my end table.

Steps left to do at the beginning of today (that need to be done before I can take my end table home):

– sand my raised panel door

– attach a piece to screw my top facing piece into

– attach my top facing piece

– make two pieces of wood to screw my top to

– make two pieces of wood the right size for the drawer slides

– buy screws, drawer slides, hinges, and knobs (from the club)

– attach the wood pieces for my drawer slides

– attach the wood pieces to screw my top to

– attach drawer slides on the inside of the end table

– attach drawer slides to my drawer

– attach my raised panel door

– add knob to my raised panel door

– add knob to my drawer front

– attach my drawer front to my drawer so that it lines up with my raised panel door

– screw down my top

So it was a little overly optimistic to hope to take the end table home today. But part of what took up my time today was that the guy running the club wasn’t one of the course instructors. That meant that finding the right screws, drawer slides, hinges, and knobs took 10 times longer. Plus, neither of us were sure exactly what order the steps had to be done, especially considering there’s not enough room for the drill inside the end table once you start adding pieces.

My mum also went into the club today; she’s been wanting to build some simple shelves. She had bought some pre-made panels and luckily had enough extra to give me for a couple of pieces I needed. I have a ton of scrap pieces, but I only had two that were long enough out of the four I needed.

I learned about counter-sinking today! The instructor sped through the lessons on attaching everything, but I remember that he just used a little screwdriver to put the screws in by hand. So I tried doing that on a scrap piece. That wasn’t going to work. So I got out a drill and tried screwing with some scrap pieces. 5 out of 5 pieces cracked in half.

The importance of counter-sinking!

The importance of counter-sinking!

I was worried that all my wood was just too dry. I asked the guy running the club and he told me about counter-sinking (pre-drilling a pilot hole) and found me a bit. He told me that after counter-sinking you should be able to screw by hand. I think that the course instructor had counter-sunk all his holes before the lesson. That’s why I didn’t remember seeing it.

After a little practice with the counter-sink bit and some scrap wood, I anxiously pre-drilled my first hole in my project, then my second, and then I easily put the screws in with a little screwdriver.

Counter-sinking!

Attaching the piece to secure my top facing piece to.

I was so proud of myself!

Next, I clamped my front facing piece on and screwed it in from the back, after pre-drilling holes of course!

Mini clamps and mini screwdriver!

Mini clamps and mini screwdriver!

The two pieces I added today, and the first screws I put into my end table.

The two pieces I added today, and the first screws I put into my end table.

Ta-da!

Ta-da!

Finally, after my open-topped end table sat around for months, the drawer space now has four sides. Please note, I am refraining from pointing out all the little things that offend the perfectionist in me.

Today I also sanded the little lip off of my raised panel door. I made two pieces to screw my top down into and counter-sunk holes into them. I attached half of the drawer slides to my drawer. With the wood my mum gave me I made the two pieces that the other half of the drawer slides will attach to. Then I ran out of time. I did about half of the steps above, so here’s what I have left for next time:

– attach the wood pieces for my drawer slides

– attach the wood pieces to screw my top to

– attach my raised panel door

– add knob to my raised panel door

– attach drawer slides on the inside of the end table so that the drawer slides correctly

– add knob to my drawer front

– attach my drawer front to my drawer so that it lines up with my raised panel door

– screw down my top

I need one of the instructors to show up so I can get them to help with aligning my drawer front, because that involves some math I didn’t understand. Oh, and I also need to cut some 1/4″ plywood for the back of the end table and attach that. I forgot about that until now; the instructor’s end table doesn’t even have that on yet. I think I’m the first of the course to get this far with their end table! đŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
