The Steps List Begins!

“Start a steps list” has been on my tiny house to-do list for months. I procrastinated a lot. I wasn’t sure in what way I would present the list; on paper it’s too easy to make mistakes, but a word document is very bland compared to my purple legal paper and purple-inked pen. I decided to use PowerPoint and when I went to open a new presentation, I found one that I had started over a year ago. I had almost forgotten it. Labelled “My Tiny House”, it included an opening quote, a dozen or more inspiration tiny houses with notes and pictures, trailer specs, a list of books, a slide on all my local hardware stores, a tool list, miscellaneous notes, and a rough steps list for the build. The very thing I had procrastinated on all this time was already started.

In my tiny house Excel document, I have the build divided into phases: Phase 0.5 – Planning, Phase 1 – Before Winter, and Phase 2 – Interior. I decided to include a lot more in my steps list, which has six phases:

– Discovery, Day Dreaming, and Decisions

– Preparing/Following Through

– The Shell

– The Interior

– Moving In!

– Tiny Living

I haven’t finished filling in all the steps for each phase yet, but I will share the list phase by phase. This is the intro and Phase One:

Phase 1

Please let me know if I have missed anything! I intend to keep updating the list and adding more details as I go.

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
