It’s the Little Things

I just want to share a few of the neat things I’m planning for my tiny house.

Toe-kick storage: There will be shallow drawers underneath my lower kitchen cabinets that slide out; for storing paper, office supplies, cookie sheets, small tools, and maybe some files.

Kitchen cabinet notes: I’ll attach cork boards/whiteboards inside the upper kitchen cabinets for notes, grocery lists, to-do lists, meal ideas, conversion charts, and more.

Rounded shelves for glasses: I’m thinking about little shelves that would be attached to the upper cabinets on both sides of the kitchen window. It might end up being too much for the small space, but I like the idea of displaying pretty glasses.

Tiny shelves: I was considering my current kitchen today and how much of it I don’t use, and I thought of a space saver. Instead of having only one shelf in the middle of the cabinets, I want to add one more just a few inches above or below the main one. I’ll be able to store bottles (like spices) on their sides and have a place for cutting boards without taking up an entire cabinet.

A hanging rod in the kitchen: Something I’m thinking about is having a metal rod across the back splash that I can hang utensils and small containers for cutlery on, to keep things off the counter.

A desk above my head: Above the window seat I plan to install a shelf about six inches below the loft. It will hold my computer (and there will be an outlet back there to charge it), a notepad, and other papers you’d put in your desk.

Floorboard storage: Instead of baskets or shelves by the sides of the bed in the loft, I want to make storage underneath the flooring. The storage will be between the beams below that hold up the loft. I can’t put any storage in the floor of the main floor or in the walls anywhere because I need every bit of insulation.

Hidden electrics: I plan to hide my electrical panel in the main room, behind either a hinged whiteboard/cork board or a hinged painting.

A towel ring: I posted a while ago about a towel hook versus a towel rod for my teeny bathroom. Recently, I saw a picture on Pinterest with a towel ring instead. That’s perfect for me, because I don’t like hooks but I can’t be bothered to hang up my towel neatly on a rod.

Magnets in the bathroom: I’ve done this already in my current bathroom. I glued magnets to the inside of the medicine cabinet to keep track of nail clippers and tweezers.

Foot-activated taps: To save water, I want to have a foot pedal in the kitchen and bathroom that controls the sink taps. That way you’re not wasting water letting it run while you’re washing dishes, soaping up your hands, or brushing your teeth. Hopefully it won’t be too difficult!

A pause button for the shower: Another water saver I’ve heard of, you can use the pause feature while you’re soaping up your hair.

And those are just a few of the many interesting things I plan to create! Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
