Sanded and Sealed

I’ve spent the last week finishing my end table. I decided not to stain it, partly because I like the light colour of the pine, and partly because I was too impatient (and lazy) to do the extra step. Luckily, my mum had left-over sealer from her projects, so I just used that:

It's $50 a can!

It’s $50 a can!

One afternoon, my mum helped me prep the end table. I sanded edges and scratches while she used some wood filler and scrap wood to fill in some gaps in the raised panel door. I’m so glad she did that part; I would get way too frustrated with that sort of thing. Then, learning from Mum’s experience sanding and sealing her 8+ pieces, I used our air compressor to blow out all the sawdust and I wiped the whole thing down with a microfiber cloth. Then I applied sealer to half of my upside-down end table and drawer. After work, I flipped them over and did the other half. I repeated those steps for the second coat, but sanding took longer because I sanded every inch of the end table by hand instead of just doing touch-ups. Then I did the same for the third coat, except I skipped sanding and applying a third coat to most of the interior of the drawer space. It was a pain to reach into, and the brush was slightly too long to easily apply the sealer in the tight space. My mum and I hacked off the end of the brush’s handle with a hand saw to make it fit at all. The second coat is still smooth, and it will be protected on the inside.

It’s a good idea to let the sealer cure for about a week before putting anything on it, so I can’t use it yet. It doesn’t look much different, but here it is!

The beautiful top that I made!

The beautiful top that I made!

It took me about another twelve and a half hours to do the sanding and three coats of sealer. I still don’t have a total for how much the materials cost, because only certain people at the wood hobby club deal with the money, and they’re never there when I go in. I’ll post more pictures when I put stuff in the end table and hopefully I’ll have paid by then.

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
