A Couple of Decisions

I’ve decided to get the trailer delivered. I talked to Randy again this morning, and he said that he can double-up trips to lower my delivery cost to $350 (plus tax). That sounds good to me! That’s way better than the $1200+ it would’ve cost me to get a trailer shipped to the border from the States, and it saves me 10+ hours of driving. Our van isn’t the best towing vehicle either.

The trailer will get here about a week later than the 17th. I don’t know the exact day yet, but I still have things to do before I get the trailer so I’m okay with that.

I’ve also decided to go with spray foam insulation. With rigid foam board, I’d need 3 layers to get enough r-value (in the floor and roof at least). That’s a lot of work, and it turns out that the cost is almost as high as spray-foam. Roxul is too thick. The extra interior space gained by having thinner walls and a thinner roof is worth the higher price to me. So I’m going to save myself some work, have the thinnest shell (that will be structurally reinforced by the spray foam), and get the highest r-value. I got quotes from two different companies. The first (the purple one) was $7300! That’s more than my trailer! But the second quote was $5575 (including tax). That’s a good chunk of cash, but it won’t be all at once. The first part, the trailer/floor, will be about $1250.

So when I find out the date for the trailer delivery, I’ll make an appointment with the insulation company for a day when it’s not supposed to rain. I did buy a couple of tarps on sale though! Now, I really need to start drawing…

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
