This is Happening!

The trailer will be delivered tomorrow morning, it’s too late to go back now! Delivery cost me about $400, and the trailer itself was about $7000. Yesterday I bought some concrete stones for the leveling jacks to rest on. We’re going to set up the trailer parallel to the driveway until it has been spray foamed and has had time to off-gas. Then we’ll move it somehow to the build spot by our neighbour’s fence. Our neighbour is a flower shop with a huge greenhouse, so I couldn’t in good conscience let the insulators spray chemicals a few feet from their fence, their plants, and their staff. Since it’s open air, the off-gassing isn’t as big of a concern, but they still recommended 30′ of clearance all the way around.

There is a sale on a Dewalt table saw, so I’m going to go buy one of those on Sunday. It’s not the fancy $600-$700 one with a stand and wheels. The one I’m getting is $329 on sale and it’s the light-weight model but still has enough rip capacity to cut plywood in half. A stand just isn’t worth $300 to me; I don’t know why the stand is so expensive!

I called the insulation company today after Randy confirmed the trailer delivery, anxious to find out how long until I could get an appointment. “Wednesday, June 3rd?” Perfect! And it’s supposed to be sunny 🙂 I was so worried I’d have to wait weeks because I called at the last minute. Insulating the floor is the first step, so I want to get that done ASAP so I can move on. Plus, where the trailer will be blocks off our turn-around spot, which my family will definitely be annoyed by for the week it’ll be there.

After all this dreaming and planning, the build will be physically real. Tomorrow. Woah. Phase 3: The Shell is beginning! Onto less planning and more building!

P.S. Did you know that “an average room has over 2000 visible objects…”? (Source) It’s overstimulating and often overwhelming. Minimalism keeps looking better and better to me.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Youthful Minimalist
    May 28, 2015 @ 17:29:09

    How exciting! It’s all coming together, I am so looking forward to following your journey into minimalism! Keep up the fantastic work, and best wishes, Youthful Minimalist @ http://youthfulminimalist.wordpress.com

    Reply

  2. Anonymous
    May 28, 2015 @ 18:32:39

    It is all very exciting and it sounds like you have done a lot of research. Looking forward to pictures of your progress. Grandma

    Reply

    • Natalie
      May 28, 2015 @ 22:52:39

      I’m getting tired of how much research I’ve done 😛 Time for the building part! Don’t worry, I plan on taking tons of pictures 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
