So Much Rain!

I totally jinxed myself in my last post. It poured for 3 days straight.

I checked on the tarp the morning after I put it on, and it had come off a little. I had barely fixed it when it started raining. By the time I got to my front door it was absolutely pouring. Then when I got home that night, I checked it again. One corner had come off, but it was the porch corner, so the water didn’t get trapped.

But then it kept raining. And raining. Water pooled on the tarp between every crossmember.

This happened:

So my mum and I used the Canadian Tire points I earned from buying my trailer and bought a shop vac on sale πŸ™‚ I bought my own set of bungee cords, also on sale.

When it finally stopped raining earlier tonight, I went out and started vacuuming water. I’ve never done that before, but I suppose it’s just the first in what will be a long list of things I’ve never done πŸ˜› It took me two and a half hours to get all the water off the tarp, get out the water that found its way into the trailer, and re-tarp the trailer.

All the cavities are connected, so the entire trailer had some water on it, but the worst spot was the window seat. It had more than an inch of water in it. The trailer isn’t completely dry yet, but I was absolutely soaked and it was sprinkling on and off. I’m going to get up early and dry it out as best I can before the insulators come at 8:30. Eek!

I folded the tarp in half this time, because it’s a 20×28 and the trailer’s no wider than 8’6″. I think it worked out better; there’s less loose tarp to catch the wind. I realized that with it folded, one side has no grommets, but all the corners are bungeed and the edges are weighed down.

I need to start paying extra attention to the weather and the time of day. It’s not so fun to work outside in the dark. I’ll also need to get used to doing physical things instead of spending time on the computer πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
