I’m a Turtle

When I’m not procrastinating and I’m actually working on something, I work slowly. I rarely feel the need to rush. Things will get done when they get done or when I get around to them. Things like traffic and waiting rooms don’t really stress me out. If someone else is relying on me and I care about what they think, I will hurry, but even then, I find it hard to work quickly. I always fall back into my unhurried pace.

In high school, when I had a big project to do, I would always stubbornly want to do it all at once. Then I wouldn’t start until the very last minute because I never had that much consecutive time. Since I’ve graduated and started work on some of my own little projects, I’ve gotten better at doing a bit at a time.

So when things with the build take longer than I’d guessed, I’m okay with that. I’m doing a lot of things I’ve never done before and I want to get the important things right. As long as I do some work, I’ve made progress and I’m happy with that. Maybe that’ll change when it’s the end of summer and I’m running out of time to seal up the house before winter, but I’m not going to stress about that now! Hurrying is only going to cause mistakes, so there’s not much I can do to speed up the process except work as often as I can.

On Saturday, it rained a little and the plastic held up pretty well.

Water did get into one section at the very end, but I dried it off and there’s no harm done. The spray foam, once cured, does reject bulk water, but I still want to keep as much rain out of it as I can.

The rain stopped mid-afternoon, so I went out and did some measuring before work. The crossmembers were supposed to be 16″ OC, but as I’ve said, trailer companies don’t think like construction workers. Not only are the crossmembers a little skinnier than I’d like, NONE of them are evenly spaced. The distances range from 14″ to 20″. My mum and I spent an hour and a half calculating distances and trying to figure out where to put all the plywood pieces so that the ends land on crossmembers. The two sides also have to be staggered so the seams don’t line up and create a flex point.

Then, this morning, we spent another hour and a half discussing skill saws versus table saws. Apparently, table saws are super difficult to use with sheets of plywood. I haven’t opened the table saw box yet, so I might end up returning it. We went to Canadian Tire and I bought a new skill saw blade meant for plywood and an impact driver on sale.

Hopefully this lil guy will get me through my sub-floor!

Hopefully this lil guy will get me through my subfloor!

Being a person who likes to sleep in and who also works evenings doesn’t leave a lot of time for building. I managed to do a couple cuts with Mum’s help, but then I had to get ready for work. I cut off the edge of one piece to use the manufactured edge as a make-shift fence:

First cut!

Then I used that to start on the first piece of subfloor. Of course the first time I tried, the fence moved. Then I tried to cut off a quarter inch to make the edge straight, but that was too thin of a piece to cut off. But third time’s the charm!

It's straight, I checked!

It’s straight now, I checked!

I cut off a half inch the third time and tried my best not to push on the fence too much. Don’t worry, I started with the board that has the most excess, so this piece still needs to get cut down more. I didn’t cut it too short 🙂

I’m feeling pretty disorganized and unprepared, but I just need to get my tools organized and make a step-by-step to-do list. Tomorrow I’m going to get one more sheet of plywood and some more glue, plus some wood to make a better make-shift fence. I work the lunch shift, but I’ll be building after that!

And I remembered my sunblock 😛

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
