End of August Recap & Wall #2!

I understand now why so many tiny house builders don’t blog very often even though they’re making progress! After a day of building, you don’t want to do anything but sit and eat and sleep. Then you get up the next day and repeat.

In my last post I said I was planning on building that weekend, but it ended up pouring all weekend. Then my next days off were Wednesday and Thursday and it rained both of those days too. But I spent several hours re-organizing the garage and measuring all the pieces I would need for my walls. Then on Friday I started cutting. On Saturday I did a few more cuts and made my window and wheel well headers. I spent two hours one morning making the awkward, all-different angled pieces to fit around the wheel wells. Then yesterday I put together my front wall!

Cutting day!

Cutting day!

I made all the bottom plates and tested them to make sure they fit onto the rods.

I made all the bottom plates and tested them to make sure they fit onto the rods.

I used the nail gun and made some headers.

I used the nail gun and made some headers.

All the pieces ready to go, divided by wall.

All the pieces ready to go, divided by wall.

Laid out and ready for nails (except for the not-yet-cut angled top plates).

The front wall laid out and ready for nails (except for the not-yet-cut angled top plates).

Test fitting the bottom part of the wall.

Test fitting the bottom part of the wall.

All done and put away!

All done and put away!

There were a few small mistakes, at least four trips to hardware stores, and I managed to cut my hand on a mending plate, but I’m so proud!

It’s still so unreal to me, that something I drew on paper a couple of years ago is becoming real, that I’m making it real.

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
