Winter Thoughts and Snow Days

We take housing for granted. We take so much for granted: warmth on a cold day, water when we’re thirsty, and loved ones that care about us. There are people in this world that don’t have any of that. Meanwhile, we buy into materialism and fill our homes with things we don’t need, then we complain about the mess. So I urge you snap out of the numb way we live our lives sometimes, mindlessly consuming (that includes social media and TV), and take stock of what you love, what you use, what you need, and what makes you happy. Then, even if it’s just a single drawer or a messy side table, clear out the excess. You’ll feel lighter, refreshed, and you’ll be able to find what you need faster. Clear out an untouched storage closet and donate the coats you never wear. Stop yourself from buying anything on impulse and donate the money instead, or put it in a savings account.

It’s amazing how much money you can save when you stop spending it all! It’s so much better to have the savings. People spend so much on “likes”, on things we kind of want in the moment, but when we save as much as we can, we can spend our money on “loves”, on travel, on experiences, on the things we never seem to have enough money for. My advice is to avoid stores. Avoid shopping. Avoid the flyers and the emails. Even if it’s just for a little while. When you do have to shop, as my dad has been telling me for years, shop with a list and stick to it.

I’m learning these things along the way. I love to learn, but I’m glad I’m not in school right now. While I am planning on going to school eventually, I’m happy to have had the time and freedom to start learning how to “adult” without the stress of homework and exams. I’m creating my life as I go, trying, failing, trying something different, and keeping only what works for me, the same as I do with my belongings. I spent a recent day off doing a stuff purge, emptying all my drawers and storage space and then only putting back what I use and/or love. With the regular influx of stuff into our houses, it’s important to have regular output as well.

All in all, I hope that people remember their blessings. I am thankful to be wrapped in blankets right now and I am grateful my little house has a roof over it. When you do the math, it’s costing me less than $3 a day to store it. It’s worth that and more for the peace of mind. I can relax, take a break from the project, and enjoy the beauty of the falling snowflakes.

P.S. I checked on my windows. They’re the right sizes. 🙂

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.” – Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
