Rain and Rafters

I spoke too soon about my floor not getting rained on. The same night that we tarped the house, the wind was terrible and I woke up to a tarp split in two! My 28′ tarp ripped down the middle, lengthwise along the ridge beam, possibly from catching on a nail. My second tarp of the same size is still covering the floor, but it’s a flat surface with no where for water to go. When it rains, the water just sits until it finds its way underneath and my floor gets wet anyway.

And as usual, it’s sunny on the days I work and raining whenever I have days off, but that’s not stopping me this year.

This weekend, I cut the rest of the rafters to length:

IMG_1032

I traced the birdmouth onto each one, having decided not to mess with my original, and Dylan nailed some more metal rafter ties to the top of the walls. Then we swapped, and he cut out all the birdmouths for me while I finished adding all the metal pieces. He did a great job, and I’m glad I didn’t have to do anymore of the birdmouths. 🙂

20160522_153537

20160522_155840

The last five had to wait because the jigsaw was overheating. Dylan also added the L brackets to the ends of the finished rafters so they were ready to go up.

Then the next day, I started putting up rafters while Dylan cut the last birdmouths, then we were both up there adding rafters. Yay teamwork! But I have to admit, Dylan is twice as fast as me at putting up a rafter, so he honestly did most of the work for this weekend. I have tiny, weak arms, so hammering (especially at weird angles on a ladder) is not my strong suit. You can’t use a nail gun with the metal pieces unless you have a special gun and/or tip, because if you miss the hole it’s way too dangerous, so hammering it was!

It was raining lightly the whole time we were putting these up, so we decided to do the ones on the ends later when the ladders weren’t so slippery. Other than the last few, the rafters are up and I’m so proud!

IMG_1033

IMG_1041

IMG_1043

I think that I post a lot more than any other tiny house blog I’ve seen, but every little thing is an accomplishment for me. Every single step means learning something new, so it’s slow going, but I’m keeping up with where I want to be. I can’t put in 10-12 hour days like some builders, it just doesn’t happen, but I’m picking away at it and doing the best I can.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Genevieve
    May 24, 2016 @ 08:30:23

    I am so sorry the rain got to your floor. That happened to me multiple times. I came out one day in a thunderstorm to an ankle deep pool of water on the tarp on my floor. And I bailed it out DURING the thunder & lightening. I had three tarps and plastic down, but some still got through. Very disheartening.

    Each tiny thing when you are building your TH on your own IS an accomplishment. You are becoming a more capable amazing person with every step. Congratulations!

    Reply

    • Natalie
      May 25, 2016 @ 12:25:42

      Thank you so much!
      In all my reading before I started this, no other tiny house blog mentioned dealing with rain before the roof goes up, so I didn’t expect how much trouble it would be. My poor trailer and floor have gotten soaked repeatedly no matter what I’ve done (but I’m so glad to have a shop vac!). Now I’m just waiting until I get the house closed in so I can put dehumidifiers inside. I don’t want to spend more money on another tarp when I’m thisclose to getting the roof up.
      And it is beautiful to see my tiny house every day as it gets further and further along. 🙂 Every step makes such a difference and brings me closer to finishing the house!

      Reply

  2. Ben Ross
    May 25, 2016 @ 14:57:29

    Oh noes! I hope you get lots of sunshiney (but mild) days to bake out the water and it all doesn’t warp to bad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
