Shopping Ban Results

At the beginning of May, in this post, I explained that I would be doing a shopping ban for the month and not allowing myself to buy material things I don’t need. I have a bad habit of impulse buying random things and extra clothes, and I wanted to consciously put my money towards the build and my future instead.

I did well for the first week, spending money only on my hair appointment and a mother’s day gift.

In the second week, I convinced myself that scratch tickets didn’t count because they aren’t something you keep – but I still should’ve avoided them. I also added $10 worth of minutes to my phone, which I do every few months.

Then in the third week, I think I just wanted to spend money. I made a couple donations, supported an artist I really like, bought 3 books, and bought a gift in advance. So that was more than I planned on spending, but all on good things.

Towards the end of the month, all I bought was a pack of paperclips (for a dollar) that I’ve been needing to organize my tiny house spending receipts.

So it went pretty well, but I still spent $236, and I overspent my food budget by $96. I worked on the house 12 days this month, plus the day I moved the house, which is great, but I also bought more take-out food than usual because I was working hard and hungry!

For June, I’m going to continue to avoid shopping. I’m also going to challenge myself to not buy anything from convenience stores, because that’s where a lot of my money went this month. It’s going to be extra difficult because I work at a convenience store! I want to focus more on planning my food ahead of time and eating healthy, and there’s almost nothing in the corner store I work at that is healthy. There’s not even any apples, so I will definitely need to remember to bring good snacks to distract me from all the tempting sugar!

Check back soon to read about my build plans for June! 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Genevieve
    Jun 01, 2016 @ 08:03:35

    I read about the Shopping Ban idea last time you posted about it. I liked it. I have a terrible habit of frittering away my money on snacks & candy & pre-prepared meals I don’t even like: impulse buying at the grocery store. So using your idea I made a list of items I am ALLOWED to buy at the grocery store (in generalities like veg, fruits, grains, etc) then another list of BANNED items (candy, chips, cookies, etc). What a helpful difference it made! Since you posted that I have only bought TWO items not on my allowed list.

    Something about going to the store with this list on my head allows me deny myself ONE category of items (snacks, etc), instead of having to deny myself every individual item as it occurs to me (and losing the fight mostly). It lumps the mental fight all into ONE fight, instead of a million little battles I can fail.

    Thank you for your original posting about it.

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Jun 01, 2016 @ 22:58:10

      That’s a great idea to have a “not allowed” list, because you’re right, that makes it one battle. That was my problem with random knick-knacks. I never planned to buy any, but there a soooo many things in stores that I would see and it’s hard to tell yourself no every single time you see something you want.

      I went grocery shopping today and stayed within budget! I did buy some junk, but that was in preparation for not buying anything last minute at convenience stores. I need to have some treats to resist more. 😛 What helps me is to keep a running rough total as I go, which keeps me aware of how much I’m paying for items and keeps me within budget. I even got something for free because it rang up as the wrong price and I pointed it out. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
