Porch Puzzle Pieces

Trim has been put up! It took a little longer than planned because one of the door trim pieces was a smidge longer than the other. I took it down and trimmed it, but a piece chipped out of it. I messed with some wood filler and took a couple of days to sand, prime, and paint multiple coats before putting it back up.

20170519_153012

All of the furring strips are up, as well as the black bug screen. And I put the screens in the windows and had them all open on a hot day. πŸ™‚

I love how the pieces I add are visibly changing the house. Progress!

I’ve been working on the siding. I bought nice blades for the saws, picked nails to use, made a couple of jigs, did some measuring and planning, and did some test cuts. Click on the pictures for details in the captions:

Now that the porch is all puzzle-pieced together, I could finally start on the siding, and I’ve been getting rows up with the help of my sister and my friend Jake. I’ll post pictures when I have a full wall or two done, but it looks great so far!

Leave a Reply

Quotes

"It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we do not dare that they are difficult." - Seneca

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful." - William Morris
